User permissions

In this article:

How are user permissions set up by default?

There are five default permission groups:

  1. Administrator
    • All permissions
  2. Customer Success
    • Invite customers
    • User editing
    • Send engagements
    • Feature suggest and import
  3. Engineering
    • Change status
    • Comment moderation
    • Feature suggest and import
    • Feature editing
    • Vendor settings
  4. Product Management
    • Invite customers
    • User editing
    • Send engagements
    • Change status
    • Comment moderation
    • Feature suggest and import
    • Feature editing
    • Vendor settings
  5. Sales
    • User editing
    • Feature suggest and import

Note: You can edit all permissions for default permission groups as well as create new permission groups as you see fit. See how below.

By default, all team members have Administrator access to Receptive.

How do I change a team member’s permission group?

Select the icon in the top right of your Receptive dashboard and select “Manage team”:

Click the customer name:

Click edit user:

Select the Permission group field and choose the appropriate permission group:

How do I edit my default permission groups?

Two ways:

1. From the team member edit page:

Click “manage” next to Permission group:

Click the Permission group name:

Select the appropriate permissions and click Update.

2. From your dashboard:

Click the top right icon and select “Manage team”:

Select the Permission Group name:

Select the appropriate permissions and click Update.

How do I create a new permission group?

From your dashboard select the top right icon and “Manage team”:

Select any Permission Group name:

Click the button “Create new permission group”:

What does each permission allow?

Features

  • Change status - change feature status to Awaiting Feedback, Planned, etc.
  • Suggest and import - create features and import csv feature backlog
  • Editing - editing feature title, description, tags, visibility, effort level
  • Comment moderation - deleting and editing comments

Customers

  • Sending customer engagement emails
  • Inviting - prior to integrating with the Receptive widget you may invite customers
  • Editing - any customers invited in prior to integrating with the Receptive widget may have their names and email addresses changed

Team

  • Inviting (Administrators only) - inviting new team members
  • Editing (Administrators only) - editing team members’ names, email addresses, team, and permission group

Settings

  • Vendor settings - edit vendor name, roadmap visibility, hide customer names, upload company logo and turn on/off customer and team notifications.

 

Note: The ability to edit user permissions is included on our Silver Plan only. If you don't have user permissions on your plan, all of your team members will have "Administrator" level permissions. Get in touch if you'd like to upgrade your plan: sales@receptive.io

 

 

 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.